LibGuides: Political Science: Internet Resources

Know Your Sources

Evaluating Websites
Understanding Domains

Use the CABLE Method to Evaluate Resources

Currency (When?) When was it published or last updated? Are references to other resources up to date?
Authority (Who?) Who wrote the information and what are their credentials? Is additional information about the author available?
Bias (Why?) What does the author say is the purpose of the resource? Is more than one point of view presented?
Level (What?) How useful is this information for your purpose? Does it cover your subject in enough depth? Do you feel comfortable citing this page in a college-level assignment?
Explore (Where?) Has the author published other useful information? Do you have access to the cited resources? Are there similar or more definitive resources on this subject matter?

Adapted from: The Library Instruction Cookbook "CABLE Cook-off: Learning to Evaluate Web Sites" (90-91)

Understanding Web Domains

The domain of a website provides basic information about the creating entity of the site. This information helps you to determine the site's authority.

DOMAIN	Source Types
.com	Commercial entities
.edu	Educational institutions
.gov	Government agencies
.org	Non-profit organizations
.mil	Military
.net	Network infrastructures

Internet Resources

A-Z index of U.S. government departments and agencies
Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more.
The 13th Amendment to the Constitution (Transcription from the National Archives)
The 1852 Frederick Douglass Speech: What to the slave is the Fourth of July? (Transcription from the Constitution Center)
Article III of the Constitution
Article II of the Constitution
Article I of the Constitution
Article IV of the Constitution
Article VII of the Constitution
Article VI of the Constitution
Article V of the Constitution
The Civil Rights Act of 1964
Congress.gov
Constitution Center: The Constitution
The Constitution of the United States (Transcription from the National Archives)
Declaration of Independence (Transcription from the National Archives)
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 'Letter from a Birmingham Jail'
The Emancipation Proclamation (Transcription from the National Archives)
Executive Order 9981: Desegregation of the Armed Forces (Transcription from the Truman Library/National Archives)
Full Text of The Federalist Papers (Library of Congress)
Pew Research's Political Typology Quiz
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
The Preamble to the Constitution
Selected U.S. Government Information Web Sites
U.S. Government's official web portal. Find information by topic for citizens, business and non-profit concerns, government employees, and visitors to the U.S.
Sojourner Truth: Ain't I A Woman from Vol. 6 of the Anti-Slavery Bugle (Image from Library of Congress document)
Supreme Court of the United States
Von Clegg Classics You Tube Channel Readings of Federalist Papers
The White House

Berkeley County Government
Charleston County Government
Charleston County School District
Congress.gov
Dorchester County Government
Dorchester County School District 2
Dorchester County School District 4
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
RCFP Open Courts Compendium South Carolina
RCFP Open Government Guide for South Carolina
RCFP Reporter's Recording Guide for South Carolina
SC.gov
The official web site of the state of South Carolina
SC Constitution: Amendments to the Constitution
SC Constitution: Article IV - Executive Department
SC Constitution: Article V - The Judicial Department
SC Constitution: Article VI - Officers
SC Constitution: Article VIII-A - Alcoholic Liquor and Beverages
SC Constitution: Article X - Finance, Taxation and Bonded Debt
SC Constitution: Article XII - Functions of Government
SC Constitution: Article XIII - Militia
SC Constitution: Article XIV - Eminent Domain
SC Constitution: Article XV - Impeachment
SC Constitution: Article XVI - Amendment and Revision of the Constitution
SC Constitution: Article XVII - Miscellaneous Matters
SC Constitution: Preamble
SCIway (Government)
The largest and most comprehensive directory of South Carolina information on the Internet.
SC Legislature
SC State Library: Digital Collections
South Carolina Constitution
Berkeley County School District

Amnesty International
CIA - The World Factbook
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Thomas Reuters Foundation
UN Data: A world of information
United Nations Statistical Division
United Nations Treaty Collection
The depository of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment.