LibGuides: Open Education: OER Resources

Places to find Open Textbooks & Open Courses

Below are some suggested websites that can be utilized to find Open Textbooks and Open Courses.

American Institute of Mathematics
A list of open textbooks for various courses in mathematics that have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board
BCampus Open Collection
Open textbooks, course packs, lesson plans, assessment tools, and more.
LibreTexts
Hosted at UC Davis, textbooks/modules and learning materials (case studies, simulations, etc.) covering a range of subjects.
MERLOT Textbooks
Textbook section of the Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT). Links to textbooks from other sites.
MIT Open Courseware
Open material from thousands of Massachusetts Institute of Technology courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum.
OER Commons
A directory for finding open educational resources. Includes materials from many other sites listed on this page.
Open Course Library
Collections of course materials (outlines, assessments, etc.) for a variety of common post-secondary courses.
Open Library
A vast catalog of books, sponsored by Internet Archive, with full text links to those that are available freely online.
OpenStax
A collection of dozens of high quality open textbooks that have been written and peer reviewed by college and university faculty.
Open Textbook Library
Large collection of peer-reviewed open access textbooks. Includes reviews from faculty adopters.
Project Gutenberg
Thousands of free eBooks, including many classic, out of copyright titles. Most available in PDF or formats for tablets or ereaders.
Saylor Academy
A collection of open courses intended for self-teaching. Includes a library of open textbooks.
Teaching Commons
Teaching materials and text books from a variety of higher education institutions.