LibGuides: History: World History

World History

Sources listed below are focused on World History. Please keep in mind that many historical topics overlap each other (and/or related) from other parts of the world. Make sure to know what type of sources that your instructor is requiring.

Sources

Books on the topic of World History can be found in the D, E, and F sections listed below within the library stacks.

Remember you might have to look at other areas depending on your topic (example, if you topic is about education in this subject area then you might look in the education/teaching section).

Find Books using Library Catalog, the catalog under the left menu, and the catalog link on the top of the page. (Login using your TTC login.)

(eBook databases are listed below)

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing collection contains a large selection of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Tutorial for EBSCO eBook Collection
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers more than 10 million academic journal articles, 50,000 books, and 2 million primary source documents in 75 disciplines, including: Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Language, Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture, Law, Psychology, Public Policy & Administration, Business, and Education. Tutorial for JSTOR
Oxford University Press Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to e-books in Oxford University Press’ University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO).
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Large ebook collection providing breadth and depth of authoritative content.
Salem eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to all of TTC Library's Salem Press titles.

Additional databases are found on the top of screen under "Databases".

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Tutorial for Academic Search Premier
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Tutorial for Biography in Context
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming educational videos, including academic, vocational, and life-skills content.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video. Tutorial for History Reference Center
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers more than 10 million academic journal articles, 50,000 books, and 2 million primary source documents in 75 disciplines, including: Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Language, Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture, Law, Psychology, Public Policy & Administration, Business, and Education. Tutorial for JSTOR
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. Tutorial for Military & Government Collection
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource Great Events from History - The complete resource for worldwide events

American Foreign Policy Council - In-House Bulletins
AFPC is widely recognized as a source of timely, insightful analysis on issues of foreign policy, and works closely with members of Congress, the Executive Branch and the policymaking community. It is staffed by noted specialists in foreign and defense policy, and serves as a valuable resource to officials in the highest levels of government. (Opens a new tab)
Ancient World History (BBC)
Exploring Ancient World Cultures is an online resource created to provide introductory information about the Near East, India, China, Greece, Rome, Islam, and Medieval Europe. They include selected translations of ancient works like the Bible, Bhagavad Gita, and the Qur'an. The EAWC also indexes other ancient history sites. (Opens a new tab)
The Avalon Project – Yale University
Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy (Opens a new tab)
History Matters: Making Sense of Evidence (Primary Sources)
This section of the History Matters website "...helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. 'Making Sense of Documents' provide strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources. 'Scholars in Action' segments show how scholars puzzle out the meaning of different kinds of primary sources, allowing you to try to make sense of a document yourself then providing audio clips in which leading scholars interpret the document and discuss strategies for overall analysis." (Opens a new tab)
Internet African Soucebook
Historical sources on the history of human societies on the continent of Africa. (Opens a new tab)
Internet East Asian Sourcebook
A site that offers documentary history of the Far East from its cultural origins to the present day. (Opens a new tab)
Internet History Sourcebook Project
Hosted on the Web by Fordham University, this project which contains "collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts," is great for finding primary historical resources. The three primary historical sourcebooks cover Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History. Additional historical sourcebooks are organized by theme. In addition to full-text historical documents, one can find links to secondary articles, reviews, discussions, and more. (Opens a new tab)
Manifesto of the Communist party. (By Marx & Engels)
View this document through the Library of Congress. You can also download the document as a PDF if needed.
Prosopography of the Byzantine World
"A project covering the period AD 1025-1180" (Opens a new tab)
World Digital Library
From the Library of Congress, this site contains images of primary sources from around the world. Browsable and searchable. (Opens a new tab)