LibGuides: History: American History

American History

Sources listed below are focused on American History. Please keep in mind that many historical topics overlap each other (and/or related) from other parts of the world. Make sure to know what type of sources that your instructor is requiring.

Sources

Books on the topic of American History can be found in the E - F sections listed below within the library stacks.

Remember you might have to look at other areas depending on your topic (example, if you topic is about education in this subject area then you might look in the education/teaching section).

Find Books using Library Catalog, the catalog under the left menu, and the catalog link on the top of the page. (Login using your TTC login.)

(eBook databases are listed below)

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing collection contains a large selection of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Tutorial for EBSCO eBook Collection
Oxford University Press Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to e-books in Oxford University Press’ University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO).
ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Large ebook collection providing breadth and depth of authoritative content.
Salem eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to all of TTC Library's Salem Press titles.

Additional databases are found on the top of screen under "Databases".

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of
African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database. Tutorial for African American History
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Tutorial for Biography in Context
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
A free collection of selected primary source documents intended for students in middle school through college, arranged by time period and covering 1790-2000s.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. Tutorial for Black Life in America
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database indexes European works that relate to the Americas. Resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming educational videos, including academic, vocational, and life-skills content.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video. Tutorial for History Reference Center
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines., including: Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Language, Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture, Law, Psychology, Public Policy & Administration, Business, and Education. Tutorial for JSTOR
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. Tutorial for Military & Government Collection
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series Great Lives from History - The definitive, worldwide biographical resource Great Events from History - The complete resource for worldwide events
TTC Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Trident Technical College Digital Archives contains Alumni Newsletters, Area Commission Meeting Minutes, Graduation Bulletins, yearbooks, newsletters, photos, Quest materials and more.

100 Milestone Documents in American History – National Archives and Records Administration
The primary source documents on this page highlight pivotal moments in the course of American history or government. They are some of the most-viewed and sought-out documents in the holdings of the National Archives. (Opens a new tab)
The 1619 Project (New York Times Magazine)
Initiated in August 2019, the 400th Anniversary of the beginning of American slavery, this is an ongoing project that works towards reframing the history of slavery so that the long-lasting consequences are central to our national narrative. (Opens a new tab)
American Historical Association
A collection of primary sources documents dating back to 4000 BCE. (Opens a new tab)
Avalon Project at Yale Law School - Primary Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
A collection of primary sources documents dating back to 4000 BCE. (Opens a new tab)
The Avalon Project – Yale University
Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy (Opens a new tab)
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
From the Library of Congress, a searchable collection of digitized American Newspapers from roughly 1789-1963. (Opens a new tab)
Documenting the American South
A collection of sources on the history, literature and culture of the American south from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. (Opens a new tab)
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. (Opens a new tab)
History Matters: Making Sense of Evidence (Primary Sources)
This section of the History Matters website "...helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. 'Making Sense of Documents' provide strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources. 'Scholars in Action' segments show how scholars puzzle out the meaning of different kinds of primary sources, allowing you to try to make sense of a document yourself then providing audio clips in which leading scholars interpret the document and discuss strategies for overall analysis." (Opens a new tab)
Inaugural Address of the Presidents of the United States
A collection of every inaugural address since George Washington. (Opens a new tab)
Internet History Sourcebook Project
Hosted on the Web by Fordham University, this project which contains "collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts," is great for finding primary historical resources. The three primary historical sourcebooks cover Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History. Additional historical sourcebooks are organized by theme. In addition to full-text historical documents, one can find links to secondary articles, reviews, discussions, and more. (Opens a new tab)
Library of Congress
The largest library in the world, containing millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, and more. (Opens a new tab)
Library of Congress: American Memory
Primary source collections pertaining to American History. (Opens a new tab)
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
From the New York Public Library, an organization aimed at preserving, protecting, and facilitating awareness and understanding of the Black experience through its collections. (Opens a new tab)
The Vietnam Center & Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive
Collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience. (Opens a new tab)
Women Working, 1800-1930
From Harvard University Library. An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. (Opens a new tab)
The WWW Virtual Library: Latin American Studies
Provides information on all aspects of Latin America from indigenous culture to current social, political and economic conditions includes access to archival documents. (Opens a new tab)