English Courses

Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Tutorial for Biography in Context

Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines., including: Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Language, Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture, Law, Psychology, Public Policy & Administration, Business, and Education. Tutorial for JSTOR

Access biographies, critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors and their works from major reference titles. Also provides selected magazine articles and websites of various authors.

Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Tutorial for Literary Reference Center

This database collection is a guide to understanding the most studied poems. It features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. It also provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form, and construction. The databases provides information on media adaptations, suggested readings on similar themes and topics, as well as classroom aides.

This collection is a guide to understanding the most studied short stories. It provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. It also includes discussions of plot, characters, themes, and structure as well as the story’s culture and historical significance.

This growing collection contains a large selection of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Tutorial for EBSCO eBook Collection

Large ebook collection providing breadth and depth of authoritative content.

Salem currently offers our new Critical Insights series, the recently revised Critical Survey of Long Fiction and Critical Survey of Poetry, Magill's Literary Annual and Masterplots, Fourth Edition.