AI in the Classroom

The Research Assistant link can be found at the top of the Library's online catalog page.

Limitations

• The Primo Research Assistant does not directly search the TTC library collections. It searches across a Central Discovery Index (CDI), a database containing billions of records. (To search the full collection and other SC Libraries, you need to use the traditional online catalog).
• This tool looks at the abstracts and metadata, not the full text of the sources for its analysis.
• If you do not filter to "Available Online", the output will include print books that may not be immediately available in our library. (These items may be available through interlibrary loan.)
• Content is updated frequently however, for the latest news and most current research, it may be better to search library databases directly.
• As with all AI tools, output may have errors and must be critically evaluated.

Prompting Tips

• Use natural language or keywords
• Include limits in your prompt:
  • peer-reviewed
  • books
  • published in the last 5 years
  • available online (identifies articles and ebooks that are available in full text)

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Sample prompt:

How can AI be used to enhance student learning? published in the last 5 years, and available online

Critically Evaluate the AI generated Response and Sources

1. Read the Overview.
2. Click on each source to review the full text.
3. Verify the sources are relevant to your topic.
4. Check for inaccuracies between the overview and sources.
5. Is there any obvious bias in the overview or sources?
6. Click on "View More Results" to see additional sources available.

Acknowledge Use of AI

• If using this tool to help with your research, make sure to acknowledge the use.
• Click the Citing AI tab in this guide to learn more about how to acknowledge use of this tool.

This tool will not be the best tool for all research needs however it might be a good place to start. 

Contact a Librarian for help with your research.