Course Information
This course provides an appreciation and understanding of the mathematics underlying several topics in contemporary society. Topics may include voting methods, apportionment problems, Euler and Hamilton circuits, population growth and fractals.
- Mat 123 Final Exam ReviewThis document link above contains practice problems for this course.
You will need to check Course Search to determine what instructional methods are available for the term/semester.
Instructional method codes and descriptions:
|
INT |
Online Course |
All instruction in online courses is delivered entirely via the internet through the college’s learning management platform, Desire 2 Learn (D2L). There are no required live meetings and all materials and communication with the instructor and other students can be completed in D2L. |
|
ISP |
Individualized Study Plan |
ISP courses meet in person and use computer tutorials, guided instruction, learning lab activities and self-paced lessons using a variety of media, including Internet resources. |
|
SOM |
Scheduled Online Meetings |
SOM courses are live online courses that are conducted in real-time. The instructor and students are meet in videoconference sessions, which begin and end at a fixed times. |
|
LEC |
Lecture |
Lecture courses typically meet in person multiple times a week during fixed times.. |
|
LAB |
Laboratory |
The principal activities in a lab course are "hands on" and include observation, discussion, participation, and experimentation. |
|
OL |
Open Lab |
Open Lab courses provide flexibility for the completion of lab activities. These classes may have both an online and face-to-face component. Open Lab Hours will vary based on program. Your academic advisor or instructor will provide you with additional information. |
|
HYB |
Hybrid Course |
Hybrid courses combine traditional lecture instruction with online learning (see descriptions above). |
Library Resources
Library Databases Math Help
- LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life skills resources. Tutorial for LearningExpress Library
- Mometrix This link opens in a new windowMometrix eLibrary is a robust database of test preparation materials for career and professional certifications that will help South Carolina students preparing to enter the workforce. The eLibrary includes study materials for over 1,800 different exams covering 16 different subject areas including nursing, teaching, construction, social work, finance, med-tech, and law.
- Tutor.com This link opens in a new windowReal-Time Tutoring: 24 hours a day, seven days a week for English and Spanish speakers. Connect with a tutor on a variety of subjects, test prep assistance, or parent coaching. An account is not necessary to use this service. Tutorial for Tutor.com
Useful websites
- All In One High School - Matha free curriculum resource for homeschoolers. It’s broken down by subjects, such as algebra or geometry, and links to videos, quizzes, and activities each day
- Ask Dr. MathQuestion-answer format on a variery of topics
- DesmosGraphing applet
- GeoGebraGraphing applet
- Hippocampusoffers free lessons in advanced math subjects including calculus, statistics, and trigonometry
- Khan Academy - MathFind help for a variety of math topics at different levels
- MathologerEnter the world of the Mathologer for really accessible explanations of hard and beautiful math(s).
- MathTVFree math videos - Basic math through Calculus
- PurpleMathProvides explanations of some mathematical topics
- ThatquizProvides practice problems
Mathematics in Culture and Society by ISBN: 9781429837514Publication Date: 2012-09-30Each title in The Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society Singles presents 60-70 articles showing the math behind our daily lives, explaining to students how and why math works, and allowing readers to better understand how disciplines such as algebra, geometry, calculus, and others affect what we do every day.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society by ISBN: 9781587658488Publication Date: 2012-02-01Presents articles showing the math behind our daily lives. Explains how and why math works, and allows readers to better understand how disciplines such as algebra, geometry, calculus, and others affect what we do every day.
Basic Math Quick Reference Handbook by Call Number: QA11.2 .M57 2009ISBN: 9780615273907Publication Date: 2009-01-01[Located at Thornley & Berkeley Campuses]
This handbook, written by an experienced math teacher, lets readers quickly look up definitions, facts, and problem solving steps.
Math Review by ISBN: 9781423218715Publication Date: 2012-05-31With updated content and an additional panel of information, Math Review includes hard-to-remember formulas and properties, along with numerous examples and illustrations to improve understanding.
