Contact TTC's Center for Teaching Excellence for faculty support in the design, development, and implementation of all distance learning and traditional face-to-face courses. CTE also provides a variety of professional development opportunities for faculty.
CTEtraining@tridenttech.edu or call (843) 574-6160
Best Practices in Online Teaching and Learning across Academic Disciplines provides insights from experienced university teachers and scholars across multiple disciplines—including social sciences, humanities, natural sciences, mathematics, and professional programs such as nursing, education, and business administration—who share innovative practices, pedagogies, and instructional design techniques.
This book offers tested practices for successful design, implementation and teaching of blended and online courses in French and cultural studies. Founded on recent research, it promotes a contextualized, accessible environment through increased online access to authentic materials, face-to-face creative interaction, and embedded formative assessment.
This practical handbook for designing and teaching hybrid or blended courses focuses on outcomes-based practice. (This eBook can be accessed from multiple databases. After clicking on the title, pick which database to access it from.)
(An Open Source Textbook - By: Brian Beatty, San Francisco State University) This volume provides readers with methods, case stories, and strategies related to Hybrid-Flexible (HyFlex) course design so that they may make decisions about using it themselves and even begin their own HyFlex course (re)design.
This chapter provides definitions and distinguishing characteristics of the various terms used in the context of hybrid education. The author also offers an overview of the recent literature on hybrid teaching and learning.
This chapter discusses how the community college represents a potentially ideal educational setting for hybrid learning to thrive. The multimodal nature of hybrids, combining both online and face-to-face learning, affords the opportunity to engage students in a variety of ways. Further, many community college students can benefit from the flexibility offered by the hybrid model. At the same time, however, underprepared and first-generation college students, many of whom depend on the community college's open access mission, can still take advantage of the face-to-face support available in the hybrid format.
This chapter discusses common tools and resources for building a hybrid course in a higher education setting and provides recommendations for best practices in Learning Management Systems and Open Educational Resources.
A hybrid teaching model which combines traditional classroom with online learning emerges as the times require. Hybrid teaching uses information technology to reorganize the various elements of teaching so that traditional teaching and new technology application can complement each other, and gradually get the attention and attention of teachers and students.
Based on the author's experiences developing and implementing a multi-week hybrid course design institute, this chapter outlines the components of training-both andragogical and technological-most helpful for faculty who are planning to teach a hybrid course.