Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Business Databases
The following databases contain materials that are helpful in understanding and keeping up-to-date on business issues: news articles, market info, company info, sample business plans, etc.
Business Source Premier
Coverage includes all areas of business, including: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily.
TR Westlaw Campus Research
Business and legal research database. Provides court cases and company information.
To find FINANCIAL RATIOS, log in to TR Westlaw:
1) select COMPANY INVESTIGATOR
2) search for your company
3) click on company name
4) select the REPORT tab
5) choose: Company Investigator Report (Premier)
6) on the left side, scroll down to WORLDSCOPE to view Financial ratios
Troubleshooting Access Issues
If you have problems gaining access to Westlaw, or any library database, check out this page or the library tutorials guide.
Databases Available through Charleston County Library
You will need a Charleston County Library card to access these databases. CCPL library cards are free to residents of Charleston County and current Trident Technical College students. Contact a Charleston County Library Branch for details.
Business Insights: Essentials
Industry and company overviews including articles, investment reports, and financial statements. Includes FINANCIAL RATIOS.
Selected Journals titles
Numerous journals with articles are available in the recommended databases that cover topics in all areas of accounting. The selected titles listed below are among the more commonly used ones. The link provided will allow you to directly search within the specified journal. Once accessed, click on the Search Within this Publication link.
For additional titles, use the database search screen within each database.
Accounting and Business Research
Subjects: Accounting & Tax ------
Original empirical or analytical articles contributing to knowledge in the areas of accounting, broadly defined; published in London for the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.
Subject: Accounting & Tax; Management -----
Coverage includes news emanating from large & small practitioners, regulatory agencies & vendors, in addition to a focus on the top growth niches & management strategies for today's progressive practices.
Subjects: Accounting & Tax------ Refereed articles aimed at CPAs in public practice, industry, education and government evaluated on the basis of contribution to the profession, relevance, and benefit to practitioners.
Journal of Accountancy
Subjects: Accounting & Tax-----
Articles, interviews, profiles, legislation and news of note on all aspects of accounting for members of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.
Journal of Accounting, Auditing, & Finance
Subjects: Accounting & Tax; Business (General); Management ----
Provides a scientific discourse about accounting, business, & management both practically & conceptually.
Journal of Accounting Research
Subjects: Accounting & Tax
Description: Articles, research reports, capsules and comments, and thematic issues, on all aspects of accounting and the proceedings of the annual Conference on Accounting Research aimed at students, academics, libraries and practitioners.