Researching Charleston History and News

The Post and Courier is the main daily newspaper in Charleston, South Carolina.

Access to newspapers of various cities in South Carolina.

Covering more than 500 years of the African American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of
African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database. Tutorial for African American History

A free collection of selected primary source documents intended for students in middle school through college, arranged by time period and covering 1790-2000s.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. Tutorial for Black Life in America

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines., including: Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Language, Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture, Law, Psychology, Public Policy & Administration, Business, and Education. Tutorial for JSTOR

A great source for background information on a topic. Provides a complete reference collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, full text entries, images, sound files, data, maps, and more. Tutorial for Credo Reference

This growing collection contains a large selection of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Tutorial for EBSCO eBook Collection

Large ebook collection providing breadth and depth of authoritative content.