Assignment
Annotated Bibliography:
Students will submit an annotated bibliography: of five (5) professional, research-based journal articles regarding children with exceptionalities, disabilities, and/or inclusion, and/or families.
The students must choose recent (within last five years) articles from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and may use each journal only once.
Early Childhood & Education Databases
Use these Education Databases to find scholarly articles, published in the last five years.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe database contains more than one million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles. Tutorial for ERIC
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage for a wide range of education related topics.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage of more than 550 full text journals, including more than 525 peer-reviewed titles. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Tutorial for Academic Search Premier
- TTC Databases: EducationFind more Education databases.
Start Your Search
1. Start your search by identifying your keywords and search terms.
Examples: children AND inclusion "children with disabilities" "exceptional children"
2. Select a database from the Library Databases linked on this page.
3. Click on the link to Advanced Search under the search box.
Advanced Search Filters
SEARCH for RECENT, PEER REVIEWED ARTICLES
4. Type in your search terms and select SU or TI from the dropdown box on the right.
(Using the SU filter looks for your search terms are a subject of the article. TI looks for your search terms in the title of the article.)
5. Scroll down on the page and limit you search to articles published in the last 5 years and click the Peer Reviewed box.
6. Hit search.
Get the article and APA Citation
VIEWING THE ARTICLE
7. Choose an article from the search results page and look for the Full text link under the article and click it.
APA Citations in Library Databases
APA CITATIONS
8. To find the APA Citation, click the title of the article on the Results page.
9. On the right side of the screen, under tools, find the cite button and click it. 
10. On the new page, scroll down to the APA citation to copy & paste in your Annotated Bibliography.
ALWAYS double check the formatting of citations pulled from library databases. These citations are computer generated and may have errors.
For more help with citations and APA formatting, schedule an appointment with the TTC Writing Center.
