LibGuides: Philosophy: Articles / Databases

Finding Articles

The databases listed in the boxes below contain thousands of articles from journals and magazines. Most of the journals are academic journals which means that they have been peer-reviewed (examined by experts who determine whether or not the articles should be published.) Search the databases to find articles for your college research projects.

Additional databases are found on the top of screen under "Databases".

General Databases

Academic Search Premier
Full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Tutorial for Academic Search Premier
Credo Reference
A great source for background information on a topic. Provides a complete reference collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, full text entries, images, sound files, data, maps, and more. Tutorial for Credo Reference
Films On Demand
Provides access to streaming educational videos, including academic, vocational, and life-skills content.
Newswires
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire and more.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
One-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Tutorial for Opposing Viewpoints

Subject Specific Databases

History Reference Source
Provides historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video. Tutorial for History Reference Center
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines., including: Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Language, Literature, Music, Film Studies, Folklore, Performing Arts, Religion, Art & Art History, Architecture, Law, Psychology, Public Policy & Administration, Business, and Education. Tutorial for JSTOR

JSTOR - Primary Source Link
This link is used to search for only primary sources in the library database JSTOR. (You must login using your TTC credentials.)

ProQuest eBook Central
Large ebook collection providing breadth and depth of authoritative content.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
A full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language. Tutorial for Religion and Philosophy Collection