Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use JSTOR: About JSTOR

A JSTOR Guide

What is JSTOR?

JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.

Access to Content on JSTOR

Your library's access to JSTOR may be limited to certain journals, books, and primary sources. Contact your library for more information.

Journals

JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics. 

Archival journal collection descriptions: http://about.jstor.org/journals

Ebooks

JSTOR contains more than 40,000 ebooks from academic publishers. The ebooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.

More information about ebooks: http://about.jstor.org/content-on-jstor-books

Primary Sources

JSTOR includes more than two million primary sources across four collections:

  • 19th Century British Pamphlets - This is a collection of more than 25,000 pamphlets published in the 19th century. They chronicle political and socioeconomic issues and debates of concern to Britain at the time, and the digitized files preserve images and contemporary annotations. For libraries that subscribe to 19th Century British Pamphlets, the content is available alongside the journals and ebooks on http://www.jstor.org.
  • Global Plants - Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized, high-resolution plant type specimens, and also includes reference works and primary sources such as correspondences, diaries, botanical illustrations, and photographs. Global Plants is available at http://plants.jstor.org.
  • Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa - Struggles for Freedom (http://www.aluka.org/struggles) is a collection of more than 20,000 objects that relate to liberation movements in six southern African countries. The objects include oral histories, speeches, nationalist publications, fully digitized books, and pamphlets. 
  • World Heritage Sites: Africa - World Heritage Sites (http://www.aluka.org/heritage) is a collection of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites and rock art sites. The more than 50,000 objects in the collection include photgraphs, 3D models, GIS datasets, site plans, excavation reports, and other scholarly material.

More information about primary sources: http://about.jstor.org/content-on-jstor-primary-sources