Food Science
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food TechnologyProvides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
The Cambridge World History of FoodRanging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A-ZGives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.
The New Food Lover's CompanionA-to-Z entries describing foods, cooking techniques, herbs, spices, desserts, wines, and the ingredients for pleasurable dining.
Wine Lover's CompanionArranged alphabetically, this guide contains comprehensive definitions for wine related terms.
Agriculture
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant PathologyAn easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
Handbook of Vegetable PestsA comprehensive survey of all pests likely to be encountered in North America.
The Macquarie Dictionary of Trees & ShrubsA comprehensive listing of the plants found in Australian gardens, including native trees, shrubs and climbers, as well as those introduced from other parts of the world.