Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Terms and Concepts
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Economics Book
From Aristotle and Thomas Aquinas, to Adam Smith and John Maynard Keynes, to the top economic thought leaders of today, The Economics Book is the essential reference for students and anyone else with an interest in how economies work.
Collins Dictionary of Economics by
Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.
An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics by
This reference source on macroeconomics embraces definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches and the contributions of major thinkers.
Guide to Economic Indicators by
Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators by
Designed to answer questions about the makeup, purpose, use, and availability of economic indicators in a broad sense of the term, this book includes entries on indicators, many of which are new to this edition. In addition to identifying and describing indicators, the entries show how they are calculated, where they are published, how they are used, where their values are published, and where one can find further information about them.
A Financial History of the United States by
Focuses on the growth and expansion of banking, securities, and insurance from the colonial period right up to the incredible growth of the stock market during the 1990s and the attack on the World Trade Center in 2001.
Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary by
Clear, accessible, and cross-referenced explanations of today's most essential financial terms, including vocabulary related to accounting, finance, banks and banking, economics, investing, markets, real estate, and securities.
QFinance: The Ultimate Resource
Includes best practice and thought leadership articles, as well as practical guides and solutions to daily financial challenges, up-to-date country and industry data, summaries of the most popular finance titles, and, biographies of important people in the world of finance.
The Penguin International Dictionary of Finance by
The globalization of virtually all financial markets, the single European market and electronic technology continue to generate new terminology in the complex world of finance. Newly expanded and updated, with over four hundred new terms, this is an indispensable work of reference for everyone concerned with finance, including financial professionals, students, investors and tax-payers.
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms by
Terms related to stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banking, tax laws, and transactions in the various financial markets are presented alphabetically with descriptions. Contains a helpful list of financial abbreviations and acronyms, illustrative diagrams and charts.
Topics in Economics
The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary by
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations by
Primarily focused on the rise of the Great Powers and the course of world civilizations, their formative wars and diplomatic, political and economic relations. But a serious effort is made to cover all of the smaller and less powerful regions and their local history, along with how progressive inclusion into the modern state system affected them.
The Handbook of Economic Sociology by
Focuses on international and global concerns in economic sociology, institutional analysis, the transition from socialist economies, organization and networks, and the economic sociology of the ancient world.
The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility by
A complete reference on CSR, compiled by the Institute for Corporate Cultural Affairs (the ICCA). The entries have been written by leading experts, leading global thinkers and CSR practitioners.
The Elgar Companion to Feminist Economics by
Comprehensive reference work introducing readers to the field of feminist economics. It addresses key concepts as well as feminist economic critiques and reconstructions of major economic theories and policy debates.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor by
Serving as the ideal place for students and interested readers to begin their research, this A-Z resource covers the history of organized labor in all of its complexity, from the dawn of the industrial revolution to the post-industrial age.
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics
The comprehensive Encyclopedia features accessible, informative and provocative contributions by leading international scholars working in the tradition of Keynes.
OECD Factbook 2013: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
The OECD Factbook provides a global overview of todays major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa.
Who's Who In Economics by
An extensive and authoritative guide to the most frequently cited academic economists throughout the world.
A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists by
An extensive and authoritative guide to economists both past and present, providing biographical, bibliographical and critical information on over 100 economists working in the non-neoclassical traditions broadly defined.
The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics by
An invaluable reference book on key figures in economics and their path-breaking insights. Encourages the reader to sample some of the Laureates' original works and gain a better understanding of the context in which new ideas were first put forward.
24/7 Reference Desk
, Aeronautical Studies
, Community, Family, and Child Studies
, Computer Technology
, Cosmotology and Esthetics
, Costume & Fashion
, Criminal Justice
, Environmental Studies
, Film, Media and Visual Arts
, Foreign Languages
, Health Sciences
, Hospitality, Tourism & Culinary Arts
, Political Science
, Practice Tests & Career Info
, Religion and Philosophy
, Theater Arts
, Veterinary Tech
, Women's Studies