Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Across All Library Resources
General Philosophy titles
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by
Contains comprehensive entries on major philosophers (e.g. Aristotle, Henry More) including pre-eminent contemporary philosophers (e.g. Nussbaum). Extensively covers rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics. International in scope with entries on non-Western and non-European philosophy, including African, Arabic, Islamic, Japanese, Jewish, Korean and Latin-American philosophy and broad coverage of Continental philosophy.
A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan
From the classic thinkers, through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant and hundreds more who lead up to the modern age, this comprehensive dictionary spans the personalities, terminology and vocabulary of thousands of years of philosophical thought in addition to the more recent encroachment of social and psychological sciences.
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Philosophy Book
The Philosophy Book untangles knotty theories and sheds light on abstract concepts, and is perfect for anyone with a general interest in how our social, political, and ethical ideas are formed, as well as students of philosophy and politics.
Philosophy A - Z
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by
A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy.
Philosophy of Science A-Z by
Gives concise, accurate and illuminating accounts of key positions, concepts, arguments and figures in the philosophy of science.
Great Thinkers A-Z
Brings together short, accessible snapshots of the people who have shaped Western thought from the ancient Greeks to today. The snapshots, written by the world's leading experts, describe a major thinker's life and work with suggestions for further reading on each one
Schools and Subareas
A Dictionary of Philosophical Logic by
Introduces undergraduate and post-graduate students to the main problems and positions of philosophical logic. Elements include crucial figures, positions, terminology, and debates within philosophical logic as well as issues that pertain to related, overlapping disciplines, such as set theory and the philosophy of mathematics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for identification within the context of wider debates.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by
Covers the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section provides comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. Also contains useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends.
Dictionary of Existentialism by
This dictionary provides, through alphabetically arranged entries, brief overviews of the tenets, philosophers, and writers of existentialism.
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy by
The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work presents 270 articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. The articles present not only succinct historical accounts of their subject matter, but they introduce readers to issues of interpretation and debate in the contemporary scholarly study of the philosophy of the Classical period. Scholars, students, and interested lay persons will find this volume useful in gaining a comprehensive view of the field.
Encyclopedia of Empiricism by
An essential source of information on particular figures, topics, and doctrines, treating empiricism as a 17th- and 18th-century movement as well as a broader tendency in philosophical thought.
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of the American Enlightenment by
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of the American Enlightenment is the first reference work on this key subject in early American history. With over 500 original essays on key American Enlightenment figures, it provides a comprehensive account to complement the intense scholarly activity that has recently centered on the European Enlightenment.
The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics by
An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.
24/7 Reference Desk
, Aeronautical Studies
, Community, Family, and Child Studies
, Computer Technology
, Cosmotology and Esthetics
, Costume & Fashion
, Criminal Justice
, Environmental Studies
, Film, Media and Visual Arts
, Foreign Languages
, Health Sciences
, Hospitality, Tourism & Culinary Arts
, Political Science
, Practice Tests & Career Info
, Religion and Philosophy
, Theater Arts
, Veterinary Tech
, Women's Studies