Librarian
Welcome
This research guide suggests sources to assist you in finding information and materials for English Composition. You can see suggestions for finding books, articles, eBooks, statistics, images, etc.
If you need further assistance, please get in touch with a TTC librarian by clicking on 'Get Help!' at the top of the screen. You can also contact Tom Fitzmaurice (Librarian) for research assistance in English Composition.
By clicking on 'Get Help!' - you can:
- Make an appointment with a librarian;
- Access Tutoring resources (including writing assistance);
- and More...
To Chat with a librarian, click on the 
button. When prompted, choose Chat with a Librarian (Research) from the dropdown menu, and you will be connected to our 24/7 live chat.
Find Articles on Issues (Including local issues and topics)
Search these recommended databases to find articles for your research paper. The Post and Courier and South Carolina New Sources are relevant databases for issues and topics related to Charleston and South Carolina respectively.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Tutorial for Academic Search Premier
- NewsBank This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including The Post and Courier. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Tutorial for NewsBank
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes 860 full-text newspapers and over 857,000 television and news radio transcripts. Tutorial for Newspaper Source Plus
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowOne-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Tutorial for Opposing Viewpoints
- Post and Courier This link opens in a new windowThe Post and Courier is the main daily newspaper in Charleston, South Carolina.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new windowContains essays and articles that present multiple sides of current issues. Tutorial for Points of View Reference Center
- South Carolina News Sources This link opens in a new windowAccess to newspapers of various cities in South Carolina.
Find EBooks
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA great source for background information on a topic. Provides a complete reference collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, full text entries, images, sound files, data, maps, and more. Tutorial for Credo Reference
Find ebooks about your research topic.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis growing collection contains a large selection of eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Tutorial for EBSCO eBook Collection
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowExplore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research. Tutorial for Gale eBooks
- ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new windowLarge ebook collection providing breadth and depth of authoritative content.
- Salem eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to all of TTC Library's Salem Press titles.
Using the Online Library
- ENG101 Library Orientation TutorialComplete this interactive tutorial to learn how to find sources in the library.
- Library "How To" VideosWatch these short videos to learn how to search the online library to find your sources.