Finding Ebooks
Electronic books (Ebooks) are a wonderful resource for your academic assignments. They are BOOKS. Not online sources. There are three common ways to locate Ebooks in the TTC library system.
- Conduct a standard catalog search. Limit your results to "Avaliable Online". To access all online titles, in your catalog search request titles from TTC & PASCAL (Our statewide shared collection of 55 SC college libraries).
- Use our Online Databases, specifically the ProQuest Ebook Central database and the EBSCO Ebook Collection. (A-Z database page).
Note: In most cases, you will be requested to submit your TTC username and password to access the Ebook.
SEARCH TIPS :
- Search for a specific Artist by Name.
- Search for a specific Period of Art.
- Use the Advanced Search feature, if possible, to narrow down the number of results and to retrieve more relevant results.
Sample of Art Ebooks (Available online)
Down Bohicket Road by
Artist Mary Whyte's Down Bohicket Road includes two decades worth of watercolors--depicting a select group of Gullah women of Johns Island, South Carolina, and their stories. In 1991, following Whyte's recovery from a year of treatment for cancer, she and her husband moved to a small sea island near Charleston, seeking a new home where they could reinvent themselves far removed from the hectic pace of Philadelphia. In this remote corner of the South, Whyte first met Alfreda LaBoard and her devoted group of seniors who gathered weekly to make quilts, study the Bible, and socialize in a small rural church on Bohicket Road. Descendants of lowcountry slaves, these longtime residents of the island influenced Whyte's life and art in astonishing and unexpected ways.Whyte soon began a series of watercolors depicting these women, honoring their lives and their dedication to family and faith.
ISBN: 9781611171853Publication Date: 2012-11-30
Georgia O'Keeffe by
A New York Times Notable Book: Roxana Robinson's definitive biography of Georgia O'Keeffe is a rich and revealing portrait of the iconic American artist. Artist Georgia O'Keeffe was born into a family of strong Midwestern farmwomen and taught self-reliance at an early age. Coming of age in the modern era, she went on to defy the social conventions of her time and lead a successful and emancipated life full of creativity, feminism, and austerity that has taken on mythic proportion.
ISBN: 9781504025638Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Kahlo by
Behind Frida Kahlo's portraits, lies the story of both her life and work. It is precisely this combination that draws the reader in. Frida's work is a record of her life, and rarely can we learn so much about an artist from what she records inside the picture frame. Frida Kahlo truly is Mexico's gift to the history of art. She was just eighteen years old when a terrible bus accident changed her life forever, leaving her handicapped and burdened with constant physical pain. But her explosive character, raw determination and hard work helped to shape her artistic talent. And although he was an obsessive womanizer, the great painter Diego Rivera was by her side. She won him over with her charm, talent and intelligence, and Kahlo learnt to lean on the success of her companion in order to explore the world, thus creating her own legacy whilst finding herself surrounded by a close-knit group of friends. Her personal life was turbulent, as she frequently left her relationship with Diego to one side whilst she cultivated her own bisexual relationships. Despite this, Frida and Diego managed to save their frayed relationship. The story and the paintings that Frida left us display a courageous account of a woman constantly on a search of self discovery.
ISBN: 9781780424385Publication Date: 2011-12-22
Central to Their Lives: southern Women Artists in the Johnson Collection by
Looking back at her lengthy career just four years before her death, modernist painter Nell Blaine said, "Art is central to my life. Not being able to make or see art would be a major deprivation." The Virginia native's creative path began early, and, during the course of her life, she overcame significant barriers in her quest to make and even see art, including serious vision problems, polio, and paralysis. And then there was her gender. In 1957 Blaine was hailed by Life magazine as someone to watch, profiled alongside four other emerging painters whom the journalist praised "not as notable women artists but as notable artists who happen to be women." In Central to Their Lives, twenty-six noted art historians offer scholarly insight into the achievements of female artists working in and inspired by the American South. Spanning the decades between the late 1890s and early 1960s, this volume examines the complex challenges these artists faced in a traditionally conservative region during a period in which women's social, cultural, and political roles were being redefined and reinterpreted. The presentation--and its companion exhibition--features artists from all of the Southern states, including Dusti Bongé, Anne Goldthwaite, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Ida Kohlmeyer, Loïs Mailou Jones, Alma Thomas, and Helen Turner. These essays examine how the variables of historical gender norms, educational barriers, race, regionalism, sisterhood, suffrage, and modernism mitigated and motivated these women who were seeking expression on canvas or in clay. Whether working from studio space, in spare rooms at home, or on the world stage, these artists made remarkable contributions to the art world while fostering future generations of artists through instruction, incorporating new aesthetics into the fine arts, and challenging the status quo. Sylvia Yount, the Lawrence A. Fleischman Curator in Charge of the American Wing at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, provides a foreword to the volume.
ISBN: 9781611179545Publication Date: 2018-06-20
Contact Us
Search Across All Library Resources
Sample of Art Books in the library (Hardcopy Print)
Jacob Lawrence: the Migration Series - By Leah Dickerman and Elsa Smithgall
In 1941, Jacob Lawrence, then just twenty-three years old, completed a series of sixty small tempera paintings with text captions about the Great Migration. Within months of its making, Lawrence's Migration series was divided between The Museum of Modern Art (even numbered panels) and the Phillips Memorial Gallery (odd numbered panels). The work has since become a landmark in the history of African-American art, a monument in the collections of both institutions, and a crucial example of the way in which history painting was radically reimagined in the modern era. ND237.L29 A68 2015
Gullah Images: The Art of Jonathan Green (Foreward by Pat Conroy)
This is a collection of 180 images from artist Jonathan Green. He paints the world of his childhood amongst the Gullah people of the South Carolina barrier islands. He reveals an awareness of the social and natural environments in which we live, elevating the everyday and celebrating the social. ND237.G6169 A4 1996
Romare Bearden: the Caribbean Dimension - by Sally Price & Richard Price
Romare Bearden (1911-1988), the great African American artist, spent much of the last two decades of his life on the Caribbean island of St. Martin. This tropical experience influenced not only the work (mainly watercolors) that he produced while in the region but also the imagery of rural North Carolina and Harlem that he created during his final and most productive years. Best known for his paintings and collages of jazz and the rural South, he was honored by a major retrospective of his life's work at the National Gallery of Art in 2003. Bearden was explicit that, for him, the Caribbean was vital. "Art will go where the energy is. I find a great deal of energy in the Caribbean. . . . It's like a volcano there; there's something unfinished underneath that still smolders." In this full-color work, lavishly illustrated with 130 Bearden paintings as well as many photos of him and his friends in St. Martin, distinguished scholars Sally Price and Richard Price explore Bearden's Caribbean experience with an insider's eye. N6591 .P78 2006
Henri Matisse by Susan A. Sternau
Henri Matisse's long life and career was marked by steady, industrious work and a constant seeking and reevaluation of his remarkable art, now detailed and illuminated in this beautifully illustrated volumne. In the final years of his life, working from his bed, Matisse produced giant cutouts of unparalleled color and expressiveness--as though being freed from the mechanics of painting somehow allowed him to transcend substance with works that are the essence of light, joy, and hope. ND553 .M37 S74 1997