How to Get Off-Campus (Remote) Access to Library Resources

If you have problems accessing library databases from off campus (at home or work) try some of these troubleshooting tips:

1. Make sure you are clicking the link for the database through the Library Website or Research Guide.
2. Try a different browser (Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer, Safari).
3. Try to clear the cache and cookies in your browser. 
4. Try turning your computer on and off. 
5. Try unplugging your router and then restarting it.

Sometimes access issues can be related to the browser you are using (Firefox, Chrome, Safari, IE).

If you click on a database link and receive a message in Firefox that say "Your connection is not secure" - check out the information on this link about Bypassing the Warning.

Click here for a video to learn how to allow pop-ups using the Google Chrome browser.

Select this link to see how to allow Mac popups and disable "Prevent cross-site tracking" using Safari.

If you received the message like "Unauthorized to Access Westlaw",  and you've already tried the basic troubleshooting tips, it may be an issue with a firewall or a (blocking, filtering, or security) software program on your computer and/or router that is blocking the library's proxy server. 

• Identify the software program that is blocking the proxy server:
  1. Sometimes, the software program will let you add URLs that are NEVER blocked. 
  2. If there is no option to enter a URL, you may be able to temporarily disable the proxy blocking software on your computer.
  • Note: Because all computers, software, routers are different you may need to contact the firewall or blocking software technical support to help you identify the problem.

At Work? If you are using a work computer, you would have to consult your employer or it’s IT Department as to whether they would allow you to disable the firewall or blocking software.

1. Search from your smartphone. Try the search while using your data plan, rather than your wireless, this will bypass a router issue and you should be able to access the databases and email the articles to yourself.
2. Coffee shops often have open wireless.
3. And, of course, you can always stop by one of the TTC campus libraries.

Mac users who are having problem accessing the library databases:

• Use the chrome browser
• Then go to Databases by Subject and choose a database.
• If it says the page is “unsafe” proceed forward by clicking on Advance forward to bypass the security message and access the database.more info