Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching Google Scholar is a great way to find electronic journals on the web, free e-books through Google Books and scholarly documents.
Google Art Project
The Art Project is a unique collaboration with some of the world’s most acclaimed art institutions to enable people to discover and view artworks online in extraordinary detail.
Working with over 250 institutions, we have put tens of thousands of works of art from more than 6,000 artists online.
Yale Digital Commons
Includes free access to online images of millions of objects housed in Yale's museums, archives, and libraries. The collection is not complete yet, but is being added to quickly.
British Cartoon Archive
Research centre and picture library, based upon a unique archive of over 85,000 pieces of original cartoon artwork supported by a reference library of books, pamphlets, and AV materials. The Centre's main objectives are to conserve and catalogue cartoons; to encourage research into all aspects and periods of cartooning; to plan and promote exhibitions of cartoon originals; and to service teaching in a variety of disciplines.
Origins of American Animation, 1900-1921
Collection of animated films created with several techniques, including clay, puppet, and pen drawings. Selections demonstrate the connections between newspaper comic strips and early animated films and also offer a glimpse into the social attitudes of the period. Available in RealPlayer, MPEG, and Quicktime formats, the films are searchable by keyword or browsable by title or subject.
Vistas - Spanish American Gallery
Dozens of full-color images. This unique collection includes paintings, sculptures, architectural monuments, and objects of daily life from Spanish America between 1520 and 1820, the period from Conquest to
Each image is accompanied by an interpretive discussion.
Contains examples from all over the world.
The Library is mobile! Click here to find out more.
General Art Websites
Art and Architecture Thesaurus Browser
Searchable thesaurus providing exact and keyword matches, definitions and applications, synonyms and spelling variants.
Art in Context
The purpose of the art in context web site is to preserve and increase the availability of information important for research, education, public awareness and understanding in fine art. Includes indexes of galleries and dealers, museums, artists and current exhibitions.
Art Project - powered by Google
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
"The fine arts search engine."
Arts and Crafts Society
Information about the Arts and Crafts movement, with bibliographies, details of historic sites, and an events calendar. Also includes a list of in-print books by and about William Morris.
Offers art information from around the world.
An index to art sources
Art news and resources. Buy, sell or display art online.
Dia Center for the Arts
Contemporary art organization. Contains exhibitions and information about contemporary art and artists.
Visual Arts Page
An online resource for visual arts.
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone.
Europeana is an internet portal that acts as an interface to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe
Google Cultural Institute
The Google Cultural Institute brings together millions of artifacts from multiple partners, with the stories that bring them to life, in a virtual museum.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a US project aimed at providing public access to digital holdings in order to create a very-large-scale public digital library.
Art History: A Preliminary Handbook
Written by Dr. Robert J. Belton and broken down by chapters.
Researching Art History
Takes a look at the book Gardner's Art Through the Ages, 11th edition. Includes web links specific to each chapter from the left side menu.
"Smarthistory.org," short for Smart Art History, is a free multi-media web-book. It is designed as a dynamic enhancement for the traditional art history textbook. You can choose to view different works of art by time, style, artist and theme by clicking on the tabs at the top of the webpage.
The Art History Research Center
Tool to facilitate art historical research as well as other arts research on the internet.