TTC Mobile Library Databases
- AP NewsMonitor Collection
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text
- Associates Programs Source
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Computer Source: Consumer Edition
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- History Reference Center
- Hospitality & Tourism Index with Full Text
- LexisNexis Academic (mobile site is Beta)
- Library Literature & Information Science Index (H.W. Wilson)
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text
TTC Mobile Library Resources
Downloading eBooks to your mobile device with Bluefire Reader
- An Adobe ID- available at http://www.adobe.com/
- The Bluefire mobile reader app available free at the Apple iTunes or Google Play store.
- Authorize Bluefire with your Adobe ID before downloading and reading an eBook.
- A personal MY Ebscohost account folder.
How to Download:
- Using your mobile device, run a search using the eBook collection database and tap an eBook image in the result list for the item you would like to download.
- The detailed record is displayed. Tap the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
- Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and tap the Checkout & Download button. The eBook is added to the Checkout area of your My EBSCOhostfolder and begins to download to your device.
- Bluefire should automatically open and prompt you to view your library or begin reading the eBook.
BookMyne is a free app that brings our library catalog and website to your mobile device.
- Add a Trident Technical College library to “My Libraries”
- Locates the nearest participating library and instantly searches the catalog.
- Provides contact information for your chosen library.
- Scans barcodes and searches library holdings for availability.
- Integrates with Goodreads, the largest social book recommendation service.
- Searches library holdings for New York Times best sellers
EBSCOhost has an app that allows you to search its databases such as Academic Search Premier,CINAHL, MEDLINE, Newspaper Source, and Business Source Premier from Apple and Android devices. The app must first be authenticated via the web for access on your device.
To authenticate the EBSCOhost app:
- Download the app from your appstore.
- Go to an EBSCOhost database such as Academic Search Premier.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the "EBSCOhostiPhone and Android Applications" link.
- Enter your email address. Note:You must use an email address that you can access from your device.
- You will receive an email from email@example.com.
- Access the email from your device and click the "Authentication Key" link to access the app.
Note: You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.
Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface.
Gale has an app that allows access to our collection of online Gale resources from your Apple or Android devices. Featuring a simple one time log in, just by enter your school email, and the password will be sent to you.
To download the AccessMyLibrary-College edition app:
1. Download the app from your appstore. (Note: Remember to download the College edition version of this app).
2. Open the app and select South Carolina as the state and then scroll until find Trident Tech under the North Charleston listing.
3. Enter your school email and press enter (the password will be emailed to you from firstname.lastname@example.org).
4. Enter password to open the site. You will see Trident Tech at the top along with the address and phone number.
5. Hit the Access Resources button to see the Gale databases offered.
Mobile Computing Trends
46% of American Adults own a Smartphone. (Pew Internet, 2012)
By 2016 10 billion in use worldwide. (Cisco, 2012)
Smartphone sales will double that of PCs by 2016. (Gartner, 2012)
PC sales down 14% last year, worst quarter ever and fourth in a row in decline. (Ogg, 2013)
Americans spend 2 hours and 38 minutes a day on a smartphone, with 80% of that time using apps.
Mobile Apps generate 25 billion in annual revenue.
7.9 apps launched per day in 2012.