Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Persistent Links?
Persistent links vs Session links
- Persistent links are unique URLs to a resource (i.e. article, ebook, film clip).
- Some databases call them permalinks, others call them document links, or stable URLs.
- Session Links are the links a the top of the page and are only for that unique session.
- URL that is in the browser address bar.
Unique URL locations in Databases
Commonly used databases by TTC students, faculty and staff.
EBSCOhost Databases - Permalink
Permalink is within the record, on the right
- Academic Search Premier
- Business Source Premier
- CINAHL Plus
- Ebook - EBSCOhost
Films on Demand
- You can now search and embed Films on Demand videos from within the D2L.
- Or, from within the database, click Share (under the video) then click Embed/Link and copy the Record URL.
JSTOR- Look for the Stable URL (located in citation)
ProQuest - Look for the URL (located in the citation)
Primo (Library Catalog) - Click the title of the record. On the next screen, click permalink (under Send to).
Direct links to Journal Articles
All of the library databases allow you to get persistent links to their articles, ebooks and films. Some databases call them permalinks, others call them document links, or stable URLs. The different labels all refer to the same thing; a unique link to that article or ebook.
To add a persistent link to your D2L course:
- Locate the unique permalink/persistent URL for the article or ebook.
- Go to the section of your D2L course, click Create File and click the Insert Stuff link. Then click Insert link and create the link.
- Paste the persistent url into the URL within the content module box.
Contact a librarian if you need assistance.
Permalink: Linking Directly to EBSCO Articles and Ebooks
If you want to link to a specific EBSCO database article or ebook, go to the detailed record page of the item.
- Look to the right side "tools" menu and click on the "permalink" option.
- The URL will pop up in the box on top of the article for you to copy.
- Note: Do not use the ONE TIME Session link (URL that is in the browser address bar).
Primo (Library Catalog)
- Click the title of the item in your search results.
- On the next screen, click permalink (under Send to).
- View Online will take you out of the catalog and into the Library Database to view the full article, ebook, film.