Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search across all library resources
Books on Religion
Atlas of the Bible, Andromeda
The first atlas of the Bible to treat its subject geographically rather than historically, this unique work features the main biblical sites, such as Galilee, the Judean desert and the Jerusalem hills, illustrated with colour maps. The history and main features of each region and site are described, and references are made throughout to incidents from the Old and New Testaments.
Book of Bible Quotations
Compiled for reference, for practical helpfulness and for the sheer enjoyment of browsing through the Bibles riches.
Critical Terms for Religious Studies
Provides a concise history of each critical term, explores the issues raised by the term, and puts the term to use in an analysis of a religious work, practice, or event. Moving across Judaism, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, and Native American and Mayan religions, contributors explore terms ranging from experience, territory, and image, to God, sacrifice, and transgression.
Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible
A quick-reference guide to the Bible. Entries consist of the main people, places, customs, religious and cultural aspects, events, and institutions of the Bible.
Religious Holidays & Calendars
A comprehensive, authoritative source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions. It also provides concise information about the beliefs, practices, and history of major religions.
Books on Christianity
The Holy Bible, King James Version, Cambridge University Press
The King James or 'Authorized' Version was commissioned in 1603 when James became King of England. It was first published in 1611 and attained a unique authority, gradually superseding all previous versions. The first Cambridge printing was in 1629, establishing a tradition of care for the accuracy of the text that has been maintained to this day. The "KJV" is a classic of the English language and is still a very widely accepted translation.
Who's Who in Christianity, Routledge by
A guide to the leading men and women who have influenced the course of Christian history, including the founding fathers, saints, popes, monarchs, philanthropists, theologians, missionaries, and heretics. The book encompasses both Eastern and Western churches and the lives and opinions of personalities who have shaped the past twenty Christian centuries, from Jesus of Galilee to Pope John Paul II, and from Paul of Tarsus to Mother Teresa.
Who's Who of the Bible by
Every single individual whose name is listed in the Bible is listed here in order of their appearance in the Bible with their dates, a concise description of their lives and significance, and references to where they occur in the text.
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
Represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts.
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
This work retells the world's major myths and legends, and gives a clear reference guide to who was who, where was where and what was what. In addition to A-Z entries of myths, motifs, locations and characters, there are generic essays and entries about the various traditions, organized by location. The essays discuss the kinds of myth each area has produced, and their relationship to local geography, culture and religions. The guide explores the major myth traditions of every continent, from the Americas and Middle East to Europe and Africa. The origins and historical significance of each legend are examined and recurring motifs are traced through the ages and around the world.
The Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin’s theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.
The Christmas Encyclopedia by
This considerably expanded third edition of The Christmas Encyclopedia covers key topics surrounding the cherished holiday and its traditions.
24/7 Reference Desk
, Aeronautical Studies
, Community, Family, and Child Studies
, Computer Technology
, Cosmotology and Esthetics
, Costume & Fashion
, Environmental Studies
, Film, Media and Visual Arts
, Foreign Languages
, Health Sciences
, Hospitality, Tourism & Culinary Arts
, Political Science
, Practice Tests & Career Info
, Religion and Philosophy
, Theater Arts
, Veterinary Tech
, Women's Studies