Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the databases below to find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles as well as video clips, images, and sound recordings.
Academic Search Premier
Full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire and more.
Subject-Specific Databases for History
The following online databases are available through the Trident Technical College Learning Resources Center and will be most helpful for History courses concerning Western Civilization. Additional databases are found on the LRC web page (http://www.tridenttech.edu/student/resources/library/index.htm). Databases can be accessed on and off campus. Access off-campus requires a current Library ID number (same as the student number found on your Trident ID card).
Biography in Context
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography.
A great source for background information on a topic. Provides a complete reference collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, full text entries, images, sound files, data, maps, and more.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
This bibliographic database indexes European works that relate to the Americas. Resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
History Reference Center
Provides historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video.
Provides access to thousands of articles taken from scholarly journals in various subject areas, some of which date back to the 1800’s.
Full-text articles from historical reference titles, including Great Lives from History, Milestone Documents in American History and American Decades.