Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ancient Places & Civilizations of Mesopotamia
Babylonia: Topic Page
Ancient empire of Mesopotamia. The name is sometimes given to the whole civilization of S Mesopotamia, including the states established by the city rulers of Lagash, Akkad (or Agade), Uruk, and Ur in the 3d millennium B.C.
Euphrates River: Topic Page
Mesopotamia, birthplace of many great civilizations, depended on the waters of the Euphrates and the Tigris for survival.
Hanging Gardens of Babylon
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide
In antiquity, gardens at Babylon, the capital of Mesopotamia, considered one of the Seven Wonders of the World.
Jerusalem: Topic Page
Occupied as far back as the 4th millenium B.C. After Solomon built the Temple on Mt. Moriah in the 10th cent. B.C., Jerusalem became the spiritual and political capital of the Hebrews.
Mesopotamia: Topic Page
ncient region of Asia, the territory about the Tigris and Euphrates rivers, included in modern Iraq. The region extends from the Persian Gulf north to the mountains of Armenia and from the Zagros and Kurdish mountains on the east to the Syrian Desert.
Petra: Topic Page
Ancient rock city in present-day Jordan. The site includes some 800 structures, the best known of which is the Khazneh el-Farun, a mausoleum, monument, or temple with a two-story facade and Hellenistic split pediment.
Phoenicia: Topic Page
Ancient territory occupied by Phoenicians. The name Phoenicia also appears as Phenice and Phenicia. These people were Canaanites, and in the 9th cent. B.C. the Greeks gave the new appellation Phoenicians to those Canaanites who lived on the seacoast and traded with the Greeks.
Red Sea: Topic Page
Ancient Sinus Arabicus or Erythraean Sea, narrow sea, c.170,000 sq mi (440,300 sq km), c.1,450 mi (2,330 km) long and up to 225 mi (362 km) wide, between Africa (Egypt, Sudan, and Eritrea) and the Arabian peninsula (Saudi Arabia and Yemen).
Sumer: Topic Page
By 3000 B.C. a flourishing urban civilization existed. Sumerian civilization was predominantly agricultural and had a well-organized communal life.
Tigris River: Topic Page
In antiquity, some of the great cities of Mesopotamia, including Nineveh, Ctesiphon, and Seleucia, stood on the banks of the Tigris, and the river served as an important transportation route.
Ugarit: Topic Page
Ancient city, capital of the Ugarit kingdom, W Syria, on the Mediterranean coast N of modern Latakia. It developed as a great center of commerce, having important connections with Mesopotamia.
Asia Minor: Topic Page
The Hittites established the first major civilization in Asia Minor about 1800 B.C. Beginning in the 8th cent. B.C. Greek colonies were established on the coast lands, and the Greeks thus came into contact with Lydia, Phrygia, and Troy.
Assyria: Topic Page
Ancient empire of W Asia. It developed around the city of Ashur, or Assur, on the upper Tigris River and south of the later capital, Nineveh.
Cappadocia: Topic Page
Ancient region of Asia Minor in present E central Turkey.
Cyprus: Topic Page
The strategic position of Cyprus has long made it a coveted territory, and from the 15th century BC it was colonized by a succession of peoples from the mainland. In the 8th century it was within the Assyrian empire, then the Babylonian, Egyptian, and Persian.
Persia: Topic Page
Old alternate name for the Asian country Iran. The article Iran contains a description of the geography and economy of the modern country and a short account of its history since the Arab invasion of the 7th cent.
Rhodes: Topic Page
The island was settled by Dorians from Argos before 1000 BC. By the 7th century BC, it was dominated by its three city-states of Camirus, Lindos, and Ialysus, all commercial centers.
Troy: Topic Page
Ancient city in Asia Minor (modern Hissarlik in Turkey). It has a long and complex history dating from about 3000 BC to AD 1200.
Persian wars: Topic Page
Series of conflicts between Greece and Persia in 499-479 BC. The Greek victory marked the end of Persian domination of the ancient world and the beginning of Greek supremacy.
Trojan War: Topic Page
The mythical Trojan War probably reflected a real war (c.1200 B.C.) between the invading Greeks and the people of Troas, possibly over control of trade through the Dardanelles.
Peloponnesian War: Topic Page
War fought 431–404 BC between Athens and Sparta and their respective allies, involving most of the Greek world from Asia Minor to Sicily and from Byzantium (present-day Istanbul, Turkey) to Crete.
Cyrus the Great: Topic Page
D. 529 B.C., king of Persia, founder of the greatness of the Achaemenids and of the Persian Empire.
Darius I (BCE 521 - 486): Topic Page
D. 486 B.C., king of ancient Persia (521–486 B.C.).
From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A Celtic people who migrated into central Anatolia (modern Turkey and northern Syria) during the 270s BC, and who settled in an area that subsequently became known as Galatia.
Hammurabi: Topic Page
Babylonian king (r 1792–1750 BC) best known for the large stele on which he had some 282 laws inscribed, the so-called Code of Hammurabi.
Hittites: Topic Page
Ancient people of Asia Minor and Syria, who flourished from 1600 to 1200 B.C. The artistic work of the Hittites, as in reliefs, round sculptures, and seals, shows a high state of culture and considerable Babylonian and Assyrian influence.
Mithradates VI (BCE 131 - 63): Topic Page
c.131 B.C.–63 B.C., king of Pontus, sometimes called Mithradates the Great. He waged three wars against Rome.
Nebuchadnezzar (BCE 605 - 562)
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
King of Babylonia (c.605–562 B.C.), Nebuchadnezzar was a splendid builder, and Babylon with its hanging gardens was then the greatest city of the ancient world.
Terms & Concepts
From The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Canaanite sanctuaries for cultic worship situated on hills or raised platforms (Deut. 12:2; I Kings 14:23); later adopted by the Israelites.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Legend of the origin of the world. All cultures have ancient stories of the creation of the Earth or its inhabitants.
From The Hutchsinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Religion of the Sumerian civilization. Sumerian society was ruled by gods - everything belonged to the gods and the kings were their representatives. Humanity's role was to serve the gods and to fulfil their will in their eternal struggles with each other.
Cuneiform: Topic Page
System of writing developed before the last centuries of the 4th millennium B.C. in the lower Tigris and Euphrates valley, probably by the Sumerians.
From The Columbia Encycloepdia
In Babylonian legend, king of Uruk. He is the hero of the Gilgamesh epic, a work of some 3,000 lines, written on 12 tablets c.2000 B.C. and discovered among the ruins at Nineveh.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Form of temple common to the Sumerians, Babylonians and Assyrians. The ziggurat was a pyramidal structure, built in receding tiers upon a rectangular, oval, or square platform, with a shrine at the summit.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Religion founded by Zoroaster. In its origins Zoroastrianism appears to have been the religious expression of the peaceful, sedentary communities of N Iran.
24/7 Reference Desk
, Aeronautical Studies
, Community, Family, and Child Studies
, Computer Technology
, Cosmotology and Esthetics
, Costume & Fashion
, Criminal Justice
, Environmental Studies
, Film, Media and Visual Arts
, Foreign Languages
, Health Sciences
, Hospitality, Tourism & Culinary Arts
, Political Science
, Practice Tests & Career Info
, Religion and Philosophy
, Theater Arts
, Veterinary Tech
, Women's Studies