ENG101 English Composition I Current Issues: Writing and Citing in MLA Format
Online Citation Guides
- Research and Citation Resources (Purdue OWL)Purdue's Online Writing Lab provides tips on conducting research, using research, and APA / MLA style guides.
MLA FORMAT
- MLA Format (Purdue OWL)An online guide to citing your sources and formatting your paper in MLA Format.
- MLA In-Text citations: The Basics (Purdue Owl)Guidelines for referring to the works of others in your text using MLA style are covered throughout the MLA Handbook and in chapter 7 of the MLA Style Manual.
Citation Tip!
Did you know that most of the library databases have a citation feature that will create a citation to your article, ebook or film - in APA or MLA format?
- Find an article in a library database
- Click Cite (or Citation)
- Choose the appropriate format (typically APA or MLA)
- Copy and paste the citation
- Always double check that it is correct
Quick Tutorial:
- Database Citation FeaturesUse the database citation tools to get your citations.
Video Tutorials:
Creating an Annotated Bibliography
MLA and APA Guides - Available at the Reference Desk
MLA Handbook by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements.
Tips for Writing a Thesis Statement
- Tips and Examples for Writing Thesis StatementsPurdue Online Writing Lab: This resource provides tips for creating a thesis statement and examples of different types of thesis statements.