LibGuides: SPC205 Public Speaking: Find Books and Articles

Search Across All Library Resources

When preparing for a speech, you often need to find supporting information.

Use some of the following resources to find: background information, alternative viewpoints, and recent accounts of your topic in the news.
Check out the Find Statistics & Authoritative Websites tab to find some recommended sources for statistics on the web.
Check out the Writing and Citing tab for help citing your sources. (All of our library databases have a citation feature.)
Contact me if you need help finding your sources.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great source for background information on a topic. Provides a complete reference collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, full text entries, images, sound files, data, maps, and more. Tutorial for Credo Reference

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Tutorial for Opposing Viewpoints
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains essays and articles that present multiple sides of current issues. Tutorial for Points of View Reference Center

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes 860 full-text newspapers and over 857,000 television and news radio transcripts. Tutorial for Newspaper Source Plus
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire and more.

Email Me

Contact:

510 Building, Main Campus

843-574-6096