This is the "Phlebotomy- Main Page" page of the "Phlebotomy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Phlebotomy  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tridenttech.edu/content.php?pid=459301 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Phlebotomy- Main Page Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's New

The Library's latest blog entries

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Trident Tech Tweets

Trident Tech's Twitter feed.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

General Information

Use this guide to help you get started finding research information and resources related to Phlebotomy.

Books for this subject area can generally be found in the RB (Pathology) and RM (Therapeutics and Pharmacology) call number range.

If you have any questions about research or resources, contact a librarian for help from the Contact Us box to the right.

 

Useful Books in the Library

Cover Art
Applied Phlebotomy - Dennis J. Ernst
Call Number: RT55 .R48 2009
ISBN: 0781750555
Publication Date: 2005-05-06
Geared specifically to short courses in blood collection, this concise full-color text teaches the skills necessary to obtain blood specimens effectively and safely, in accordance with Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute (formerly NCCLS) and Occupational Safety and Health Administration guidelines. The book presents step-by-step procedure instructions and explains why these procedures are important to blood specimen collections. It Could Happen To Youcase studies discuss actual phlebotomy-related injuries.Tips From the Trenchesoffer practical phlebotomy pointers.In the Labdescribes what happens to blood in the lab and underscores the importance of key collection concepts. Each chapter ends with multiple-choice review questions.

Cover Art
Handbook of Phlebotomy - Garland E. Pendergraph
Call Number: RT55 .L56 2012
ISBN: 0812115643
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
This comprehensive text provides in-depth training and information on the skill of phlebotomy for allied health professionals. Phlebotomy is an invasive procedure that requires a depth of knowledge to provide the most accurate and risk-free technique in the collection of a blood sample. The knowledge gained from this book is more than just the ability to collect a blood sample. The learner will have a better understanding of what is in the blood sample and why it was collected. This invaluable text establishes professional standards for phlebotomy professionals. Features: *Easy-to-read writing style *Legal compliance issues *Customer service skills *Step-by-step procedures (risk-free, accurate, compliance, Allied Health, phlebotomy, Medical Lab Technicians, blood, blood samples)

Cover Art
Phlebotomy Essentials - Ruth E. McCall; Cathee M. Tankersley
Call Number: RT55 .M29 2011
ISBN: 9780781761383
Publication Date: 2007-03-12
Thoroughly updated and enhanced by new print and electronic ancillaries, this full-color text provides accurate, practical information and instruction on phlebotomy procedures with a comprehensive background in theory and principles. Reflecting current CLSI guidelines, NAACLS competencies, and federal regulations, this Fourth Edition includes updated information on safety issues and equipment, laboratory information systems and instrumentation, legal issues, and diagnostic tests. This edition also includes caution notes identifying dangerous practices and problem areas. An accompanying CD-ROM includes clinical procedures videos, animations, electronic flashcards, and a glossary with audio pronunciations. Other ancillaries include a new companion Workbook, an Instructor's Resource CD-ROM, and online resources at thePoint.

Cover Art
Procedures in Phlebotomy - John C. Flynn; Adrianne Williams (Editor)
Call Number: RT84.5 .L37 2009
ISBN: 0721675832
Publication Date: 1999-01-04
This all-inclusive text provides an introduction to the practices and procedures of phlebotomy and includes topics such as routine, donor, special techniques, and pediatric and infant phlebotomy. The 2nd edition includes a chapter on multiskilling, a series of pictures depicting venipuncture, and updated universal precautions. Easy-to-read, step-by-step coverage addresses all essential phlebotomy procedures, such as special techniques for taking blood, protecting against infection, and avoiding and handling complications. Medicolegal issues (including current CLIA regulations), phlebotomy unit management, and quality assurance are also covered.

 

Mobile Library

smartphone

The Library is mobile! Click here to find out more.

 

Make a Suggestion

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip