Allied Health WindowAHS 105 Window
This is the "AHS 126" page of the "AHS 126--Health Calculations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AHS 126--Health Calculations  

Last Updated: Dec 5, 2011 URL: http://libguides.tridenttech.edu/calcs Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

AHS 126 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Help

If you have any questions about research or resources, contact a librarian for help. 

Or watch this video for help with using library resources.

Popular Topics

 

EBooks

Use the library's eBook Collection to search for available online books.

.
 

Books

Books related to Health Calculations can generally be found in the RS & RT call number range. Search the library's online catalog to find books, dvds, and other resources in the library.

When doing a search in the catalog, use the keywords "pharmaceutical arithmetic" to pull up books on dosage calculations. 

 
 

Electronic Books

The following electronic books are available through the eBook Collection Database. The titles below can help with the math skills needed for this course. Enter your TTC Student ID number when prompted to access the database from off campus.

 Everyday Math for the Numerically Challenged – By Audrey Carla.  Includes chapters on ratios and proportions with good explanations, examples and practice exercises.

Practical Math Success in 20 Minutes a Day – New York Learning Express. Includes various math lessons, practice exercises, etc.  Also includes helpful strategies to use when taking tests involving math.

 All the Math You’ll Ever Need : A Self-teaching Guide –  by Stephen L. Slavin. Very good coverage of all basic math skills including: multiplication, division, discussed and practiced.  

 

Subject Specific Databases

LearningExpress Library  A comprehensive collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life skills resources.  The math practice tests should be particularly helpful. 

 

Internet Resources

Internet Resources 
There are numerous websites on the topics of Basic Math Skills, Ratio & Proportion, Dosage Calculations, etc.  Many sites have tutorials, practice exercises, and answers.  A few samples of websites are listed below.  For additional sites use a search engine liked Google.com (Advanced Search) with specific keywords.  Remember to do some form of website evaluation before you decide it is a good one to use.  For help on evaluating websites click here.

 Basic Math Skills
http://www.aaamath.com/
 Various categories in Basic Math Skills provided.  Review of steps, interactive practice exercises (answers provided with a click) and an interactive "game" for more practice are also available.   Categories include Decimals, Ratios, Percent, Addition, Division and others.  

http://www.math.com/students/practice.html
 Good review.  Examples explained in detailed.  Practice exercises (workout) also provided. 

 http://www.mathleague.com/help/ratio/ratio.htm (explanation of ratio and proportion)

IV Problems
http://www.unc.edu/~bangel/quiz/quiz5.htm  (good overall site with quizzes)
Dosage Calculations for Nurses

NOTE:  Internet sites change constantly.  If you find any of the above sites no longer functioning, please contact your instructor or the reference librarian @ the Main campus library. The link will then be removed.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Laura Barfield
 

Pascal Delivers

Use PASCAL Delivers to request books from SC colleges and universities.

 

Mobile Library

smartphone

The Library is mobile! Click here to find out more.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip